Ashes in the Snow Reviews

Page 1 of 1
January 16, 2019
The filming of the movie was executed perfectly. The acting was very powerful. An eye opener to the events of the time period. A must see.
January 16, 2019
Really slow and all over the place with character development. DonÔ(TM)t bother.
January 13, 2019
will be great movie, romantic and war :( so sad, unfortunately. Will watching it on boxxy software app on my iOS.
January 13, 2019
Beautiful movie and well told. I have never seen a movie about the Soviet Union and the horrible things Stalin did. Definitely a tear jerker
½ January 11, 2019
Not worth your time. The movie lacks substance compared to the fantastic book it is based off. Basically every character means nothing in the movie as you never get to connect with them. So much of the plot was left out to create this mess of a movie. It's not a love story, survival story, it's has no story. You're better off reading the book.
½ January 11, 2019
I´┐ 1/2(TM)m stunned at the harsh reviews some critics are giving this movie, most who admit to not having read the book and clearly have NO idea about this part of history´┐ 1/2"and many who belittle the necessity of telling a story about Siberian deportees, one calling it a ´┐ 1/2footnote to history.´┐ 1/2? BUT, that´┐ 1/2(TM)s why you SHOULD GO SEE Ashes in the Snow.

It´┐ 1/2(TM)s an ambitious story, especially to tell in under two hours, but at the very least, it´┐ 1/2(TM)s an admirable attempt. There have been countless movies dramatizing the horrors of Hitler´┐ 1/2(TM)s German, but far fewer about the atrocities committed in the Soviet Union under Stalin. And if nothing else, this movie is timely, as Russia engages in military action in Ukraine (having already annexed Crimea) and Putin has stated repeatedly that he wants the Baltic States back.

Bel Powley does a beautiful job as Lina, the movie´┐ 1/2(TM)s main character, and Swedish actor Martin Wallstrom is excellent as Kretzsky. When it has appeared at film festivals, the movie has met an overwhelmingly positive reception. And if you like films and filmmakers that reject the Hollywood establishment in favor of making the movie they believe needs to be made, you´┐ 1/2(TM)ll REALLY like Ashes in the Snow.
December 2, 2018
Titanic meets the piano player. With a jewish traitor. Ugh
November 3, 2018
I rarely say this, but the movie was better than the book for me. I'm incredibly proud of this movie and I can only leave the best reviews. I hope that more people from all across the globe would see it!
November 1, 2018
The movie ended and I stayed in my seat speachless... Very powerful movie, emotion invoking and close to my heart.
October 23, 2018
The movie is amazing masterpiece for everyone, the world needs to see this
October 23, 2018
Love this movie and especially the book ?? j
October 23, 2018
Amazing movie and can't wait to see it again in French!!!
October 23, 2018
A decent visualisation of crimes against humanity done by Soviet Union on Lithuanian people. Slow-ish, with barely any action happening on-screen, quite some of the logical mistakes that just pokes your eyes out and really brushed off plot, which barely transfer the horrors seen by people, this feature is still on the right track to deliver the message to a wide population of Western sociaties. Quite soft piece about the horiffic times that is dropping more shocking stories from the book, but still watchable. Cast does a great job and even a full straight face with not many emotions from Bel Powley is not ruining the full picture. However, besides a great cinematography and cast, it is hard to see anything more than any other historical features.
October 22, 2018
A big, bold, and beautiful story that is equally matched with breathtaking cinematography and a haunting score.
October 22, 2018
it's incredible. it completely breaks your heart, leaving you vulnerable and emotional. i'm glad Lithuania's sad, but amazing history finally got noticed and made into this fantastic movie. i recommend it!!
Page 1 of 1